Archived posts

Review

Dragon Heart

Posted: December 29, 2015 by Vanessa in Books that are Mediocre Meta: Cecelia Holland, Fantasy
Dragon Heart

Jeon’s sister Tirza has always been a strange creature. She understands those around her, but when she tries to respond, everything comes out sounding like animals noises. Her family still loves her, but her life is full of frustration due to her inability to communicate. DRAGON HEART opens with Jeon bringing Tirza home after banishment to a faraway convent. On the ship ride home they are mysteriously attacked and events lead to Tirza finding herself in a secluded cove that belongs to a sea dragon.
Read the rest of this review »

Review

The Rising

Posted: December 24, 2015 by Writer Dan in Books We Love Meta: Ian Tregillis, Alternate Historical Fiction
The Rising

At the time I had no idea how it might be possible, but when I got the email saying that this book was headed my way I was totally taken by surprise. As soon as I got it, I barreled through its pages, loving every minute and was completely impressed when I got to the end. Then, as I sat down to write this review, I casually glanced at the publication date of the first book in this series, THE MECHANICAL, and realized why the follow-up hadn’t even been on my radar: the first book was published in March of this year. Whoa. Then I got to be super impressed because not only had this book really entertained me, but it had been released a paltry nine months after its predecessor.
Read the rest of this review »

Review

Boy’s Life

Posted: December 21, 2015 by Steven in Books We Love Meta: Robert McCammon, Horror
Boy’s Life

Have you ever finished a novel and thought to yourself, “My goodness… that was… special.” Not just good. Not great. Better than that. A book that you immediately know will stay in your top five until the day you die? For me, that book was BOY’S LIFE by Robert McCammon (Amazon).

Now, I’m a pretty big McCammon fan. I’ve loved everything I’ve read of his. THE WOLF’S HOUR (EBR Review) remains one of my favorite novels ever. But even that novel is beat out by BOY’S LIFE. In fact… nearly every novel by every other author I’ve ever read gets beat out by BOY’S LIFE. How do you even review a novel like this?
Read the rest of this review »

Interview with Yanni Kuznia – Subterranean Press

Posted: December 16, 2015 in Interview Tags: Subterranean Press
Interview with Yanni Kuznia – Subterranean Press

Subterranean Press–a specialty press run by the amazing Bill Schafer–is easily my favorite publisher. Everything they do has an extra layer of quality to it. The paper. The art. The binding. When you get a book from SubPress, you automatically know it is worth the premium price you paid. In an age where ebooks seem to be holding us collectors hostage, SubPress comes out and reminds us that all is well. Recently I was fortunate enough to conduct a quick interview with Yanni Kuznia, who is the Director of Production over at Subterranean Press. I’ve always wanted to know more of what went on behind the curtain over at SubPress, and I figured our readers here at EBR would be equally curious. So here we go.

***

Elitist Book Reviews: Yanni, tell us about yourself, and about Subterranean Press. This is your moment to indulge in a little bragging, both for yourself and the publisher.

Yanni Kuznia: Subterranean Press is a small press that specializes in signed, limited editions of genre fiction. We strive to make our books readable pieces of art.

I found my forever home at Subterranean Press in 2007. I started out doing work for Bill Schafer and Subterranean Press as a freelance proofreader and narrator. About six months later, Bill made me an offer for a full time job I couldn’t refuse. I didn’t know working in publishing, and specifically for SubPress, was my dream job, but here I am, still in love with my career and thankful that Bill took a chance on somebody with no formal training in publishing.
Read the rest of this post »

Review

Fiction River: Alchemy and Steam

Fiction River: Alchemy and Steam

I love the art of the short story, and always have. I’ve written a few myself, much to the conspicuous delight of mostly bored teachers and professors, leading me to believe I had “it” and would someday write something really fabulous. But in the real world, the “it” factor is oh-so-rare. I am happy to say that several of the stories in this anthology have at least a spark of brilliance and, in several cases, more than just a spark. Just look at the gorgeous cover art, hinting at the awesome content within!
Read the rest of this review »

Review

Seveneves

Posted: December 10, 2015 by Writer Dan in Books We Like...and Hate Meta: Neal Stephenson, Science Fiction
Seveneves

It’s been a while since I read a Stephenson book, and I was in need of his kind of storytelling. Smart, funny, character-centric, inventive, informative — his books, for me, stand tall and somewhat apart from so much of the other writing out there. This one pushed a lot of my buttons, but strained my patience quite a bit, too. It’s a novel for our times. A story of very-near Science Fiction that is about an apocalypse that we haven’t read before (e.g., planetary self-destruction, religious fruition). This one could happen tomorrow, and I think, for the most part, it could all feasibly happen. Made it personal for me and fun to boot.
Read the rest of this review »

Review

The Sleeping King

Posted: December 3, 2015 by Alan in Books We Hate Meta: Bill Flippin, Cindy Dees, Fantasy
The Sleeping King

I can’t recall a time that I encountered a fantasy novel I didn’t enjoy on some level. Congratulations, THE SLEEPING KING (Amazon), you got that award.

How can I best describe this book? I know! A poem!

“Oh Sleeping King,
How thy premise intrigued me,
but upon inspection of the thing,
this heart screamed to flee.
Read the rest of this review »

Review

Ash and Silver

Posted: November 26, 2015 by Vanessa in Books We Love Meta: Carol Berg, Fantasy
Ash and Silver

I’ve been waiting anxiously after the events of DUST AND LIGHT (EBR Review) to continue the series, and finally I can know what happened to Lucian in ASH AND SILVER (Amazon).

Turns out that his struggles in DUST were just the beginning.
Read the rest of this review »

Giveaway: The Wheel of Time Companion

Posted: November 24, 2015 in Giveaways
Giveaway: The Wheel of Time Companion

Update 11/24/15: Congratulations! The winner is Chris T from Minnesota. Your book will be on its way soon.

Today is my birthday and I’m feeling generous, so it’s one of you who get the brand spanking new book that arrived recently. You’ve read the books, all fourteen of them. You’ve visited the discussion boards. Maybe you even decided which Ajah you’d belong to… One lucky winner will be sent a copy of the WHEEL OF TIME COMPANION (Amazon), an 815 page book full of maps, pictures, and details about the people, places, and history of the famous Wheel of Time series by Robert Jordan.

Lots of people had better enter because this book is so big it will require a box and extra postage.
Read the rest of this post »

Review

The Vital Abyss

Posted: November 23, 2015 by Writer Dan in Books We Love Meta: James S.A. Corey, Science Fiction
The Vital Abyss

Today is the day, and so I thought I’d drop this little review for the newest Expanse novella now. But today is the day that the first episode of SyFy’s series The Expanse airs on internet media. It still won’t officially premiere on the SyFy channel until the two-night release on December 14th/15th, but as of today you can watch the first episode on a pretty fair-sized group of online locations. So, if you’re as ridiculously excited to watch this thing as I am, you can now get a little taste of what is to come. But stick around and check out my review of this first, if you will. Cause if you’re a fan, you’re not going to want to miss this story either.
Read the rest of this review »