Reviews :: Book Rating :: Books We Hate

Review

Signal

Posted: September 7, 2018 by Writer Dan in Books We Hate Meta: Tony Peak, Science Fiction
Signal

A couple weeks ago, a public relations specialist from Audible contacted us about possible interest in reviewing a new book slated for immediate release. Publishers contact us quite frequently to review their books, but this was the first one that I could remember coming directly from Audible. The book was Science Fiction, so naturally I picked it up. What with me loving Science Fiction and all. ūüôā My first surprise of many came when I found out that this book wasn’t going to get any kind of print version. Meaning no physical book and likely not even an ebook. This understanding gave me the immediate feeling of a very tiny dagger stabbing me in the heart. How could someone do that to a story? Especially if it’s a good one. I mean, doesn’t everyone love the feel and the smell of the paper? The heft of the bound pages? Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy a good audio book (Simon Vance is a voice-talent god). I listen to them quite often actually, so I felt fairly qualified to give Signal a go. Thus, I dove in.

And that’s when I got my second surprise.
Read the rest of this review »

Review

Luna: Wolf Moon

Posted: October 12, 2017 by Writer Dan in Books We Hate Meta: Ian McDonald, Science Fiction
Luna: Wolf Moon

You may have already noticed, but there’s this little fever burning through the public at large right now concerning a certain speculative fiction series. Its novels are door-stoppers, its HBO episodes are reportedly hitting $15M a piece to produce, and it doesn’t take a rocket scientist (heh-heh) to realize that hitching your ride to such a wagon might not be the worst idea in the world if you’re looking to make a few bucks. It’s also available for attaching parallels that can instantly make a connection to the minds of many readers. So, seeing this book’s predecessor described as “A Game of Moons”, is sure to pull in more than a few readers, yeah? You’d think. But the difficult part in all of that would be the actual story, and whether it can stand up to such a comparison to a story that is loved by, literally, millions. Maybe you all can see where I’m going with this, and if you happen to remember my review of that last book, it’ll probably even be an easier line to pick up.
Read the rest of this review »

Review

The Rule of Luck

Posted: September 2, 2016 by mtbikemom in Books We Hate Meta: Catherine Cerveny, Romance, Science Fiction
The Rule of Luck

I was intrigued by Catherine Cerveny‚Äôs attempt to combine sci-fi with romance as I began THE RULE OF LUCK. The protag is smart and sassy and the opening pages are good.¬† Bujold did scifi/romance well in MILES IN LOVE, after all. How awful could this be?¬† I was blissfully unaware that, these days, “romance” almost always means “porn.” At least semi-porn, except for the most-excellent offerings from Carol Berg and Mary Robinette Kowal and a few others.¬† The sci-fi element in this case was just a pretense for creating the most ridiculous perfect-man trope I can remember. This guy‚Äôs only flaw is not realizing just how awesome he is. Yeah, I know.¬†
Read the rest of this review »

Review

The Fortress in Orion

Posted: February 19, 2016 by Writer Dan in Books We Hate Meta: Mike Resnick, Science Fiction
The Fortress in Orion

I’d missed this book in the lineup of new Science Fiction, and honestly hadn’t thought to look, but was reminded about it when the second book in this series showed up in a new batch of books to read. The relatively short page count and the fact that it was only number two in the series prompted me to pick up this book first so that I wouldn’t be ignorant going into number two. As it turns out though, I needn’t have worried overly much. By way of resurrecting an old review method of mine, here is this book in ten words:

Military man and operatives waltz through mission to supplant dictator.

Immediately after reading it, I read the first few chapters of book two, and I’m having a very difficult time believing that the first eight words of that book’s ten-word summary wouldn’t be identical. Setting that opinion aside for now though, here’s the skinny on this one.
Read the rest of this review »

Review

The Sleeping King

Posted: December 3, 2015 by Alan in Books We Hate Meta: Bill Flippin, Cindy Dees, Fantasy
The Sleeping King

I can’t recall a time that I encountered a fantasy novel I didn’t enjoy on some level. Congratulations, THE SLEEPING KING (Amazon),¬†you got that award.

How can I best describe this book? I know! A poem!

“Oh Sleeping King,
How thy premise intrigued me,
but upon inspection of the thing,
this heart screamed to flee.
Read the rest of this review »

Review

Luna: New Moon

Posted: November 20, 2015 by Writer Dan in Books We Hate Meta: Ian McDonald, Science Fiction
Luna: New Moon

After getting a taste of all of the excitement surrounding the SyFy production of The Expanse, it came as no real surprise to me that other TV networks might want to try and jump on the proverbial band wagon. CBS recently announced that they are going to be producing a new TV series based on this novel, and thus I was more than a little intrigued to read this one and see just what kind of “competition” CBS would be trying to bring to the table.
Read the rest of this review »

Review

A Shade of Vampire

Posted: January 3, 2014 by Vanessa in Books We Hate Meta: Bella Forrest, Urban Fantasy
A Shade of Vampire

I found A SHADE OF VAMPIRE (Amazon) thanks to Amazon recommendations, it had over 600 five-star ratings, and it was a mere $0.99 for Kindle. I was kinda excited to find something new.

It was a trap.
Read the rest of this review »

Review

The Night Circus

Posted: October 4, 2013 by Writer Dan in Books We Hate Meta: Erin Morgenstern, Fantasy
The Night Circus

I’m not usually a proponent of breaking the rules, but very occasionally allow myself an indulgence. When I first picked this book up, I knew I was asking for trouble. My wife actually accused me of choosing it because I wanted something to pick to pieces, and that might have been slightly true. But only a little. It’s more likely that I chose it because occasionally I’m just a glutton for punishment.
Read the rest of this review »

Review

Angel

Posted: July 3, 2012 by Vanessa in Books We Hate Meta: Nicole Marrow, Urban Fantasy
Angel

I think Steve was giggling maniacally to himself as he added this book to my review stack. He probably took one look at the cover and assumed it would be bad. Go ahead, take a look at it again. You might make that assumption, as well. And would you be wrong?

OK, who am I kidding… yeah, Steve’s unerring taste runs true, even without having read it. Unfortunately I did have to read it.
Read the rest of this review »

Review

Songs of the Earth

Posted: April 27, 2012 by Writer Dan in Books We Hate Meta: Elspeth Cooper, Epic Fantasy
Songs of the Earth

Okay, so there are times when this job gets difficult, and this is one of those times. Writing stories and then putting them out into the world for people to either love to pieces or gnash between their teeth is not easy. As a reviewer though, I feel like it’s my responsibility to give an honest opinion. I always try to do that. That being said, I’m sure that Mrs. Cooper is a really nice person, but this book just wasn’t very good at all.
Read the rest of this review »