Archived posts

Review

Graveyard Child

Posted: December 31, 2013 by Writer Dan in Books We Love Meta: M.L.N. Hanover, Urban Fantasy
Graveyard Child

Six hours. Six. That’d be how long it took me to devour this book once I finally got my hands on it. Started at 10:30pm, and by the time I finished my wife was considerably less than pleased with me, but DANG was it worth the ride. Now what to do with myself though, with no obtainable news about when the next one is coming out? Eek! No, no. Double eek!
Read the rest of this review »

Review

Firebrand

Posted: December 24, 2013 by Vanessa in Books We Like Meta: Gillian Philip, Fantasy
Firebrand

Seth MacGregor is Sithe, and lives in their realm beyond the Veil, apart from full-mortals. Abandoned by his witch mother, he lives in his father’s clan as an outsider, unruly and wild. He idolizes his older brother, Conal, who will inherit their father’s captaincy of their dun/village.
Read the rest of this review »

Review

An Officer’s Duty

An Officer’s Duty

I made the mistake of starting AN OFFICER’S DUTY (Amazon) before reading the book that came before: A SOLDIER’S DUTY (Amazon). I was completely lost and from what I read, the PoV character Ia was an insufferable know-it-all so I stopped. It reminded me too much of the annoying Kris Longknife books, only with more infodumps. As a result I wasn’t interested, but with Steve’s prodding I tried again–from the beginning this time.
Read the rest of this review »

Review

Crucible of Gold

Posted: December 18, 2013 by Vanessa in Books We Like Meta: Naomi Novik, Alternate Historical Fiction, Fantasy
Crucible of Gold

After the disappointment of the so-so TONGUES OF SERPENTS (EBR Review), it was a relief to see Naomi Novik back in form with CRUCIBLE OF GOLD (Amazon). I’m beginning to see the longer-range purpose of Novik’s series, and with several exciting scenes and more serious characterization, I have hope for the future.
Read the rest of this review »

Review

The Republic of Thieves

Posted: December 13, 2013 by Steven in Books We Love Meta: Scott Lynch, Fantasy
The Republic of Thieves

It’s been a while, hasn’t it? If you are like me, you’ve read Scott Lynch’s first two novels several times while eagerly awaiting his THE REPUBLIC OF THIEVES (Amazon). There have been very few novels that I, personally, had anticipated as much as this one. I guess the real question is whether or not the wait was worth it?
Read the rest of this review »

Review

Fortunately, the Milk

Posted: December 11, 2013 by Vanessa in Books We Love Meta: Neil Gaiman, Middle Grade
Fortunately, the Milk

The father has gone to the corner store to get milk for breakfast. Unfortunately, while he’s there he runs into a little trouble that keeps him from returning home in a timely fashion: the delay involves a time-traveling stegosaurus, pirates, aliens, and wumpires. It’s a miracle he even gets home.  When he tells his kids the story for some reason they’re a bit skeptical.
Read the rest of this review »

Review

Tarnished

Posted: December 6, 2013 by Vanessa in Books We Like Meta: Rhiannon Held, Urban Fantasy
Tarnished

In SILVER (EBR review), we were introduced to the werewolves Andrew and Silver. Now that they’ve recovered from their injuries, they’re beginning to think about the future. Unfortunately, the future doesn’t always go according to plan.
Read the rest of this review »

Review

The Fictional Man

Posted: December 3, 2013 by Vanessa in Books We Like...and Hate Meta: Al Ewing, Science Fiction
The Fictional Man

THE FICTIONAL MAN (Amazon) by Al Ewing was not an easy book to read. The main character Niles Golan is a jerk. He’s spent his entire life in denial of his own faults (of which there are many) and now that he’s alone and miserable he’s finally beginning to understand why.
Read the rest of this review »

Review

Kitty Rocks the House

Kitty Rocks the House

After the exciting events of KITTY STEALS THE SHOW (EBR review), Kitty returns home to Denver to get down to the serious business of building a strong base of allies in the war against the vampire Roman and his plan to change the status of vampires among humans.
Read the rest of this review »

Review

Tunnel Out of Death

Posted: November 22, 2013 by Writer Dan in Books We Don't Like Meta: Jamil Nasir, Science Fiction
Tunnel Out of Death

Do you hate movie trailers that essentially tell the whole story of the movie? You get three minutes of whiz-bang cool that makes you want to shell out the cash to go watch it, only to end up finding out that what you saw in the trailer was, in fact, the entire movie condensed down to three minutes? Grumble. This book was exactly like that. Read the back cover of this one, read the book, and then tell me I’m wrong. No wait, I’ve already done all that. Check it out.
Read the rest of this review »