Archived posts

The Best of 2012

Posted: January 4, 2013 in *Best of 2012 Tags: Editorials

So, the end of 2012 totally snuck up on us here at Elitist Book Reviews. One minute we were looking at all of our most anticipated novels for 2012, and the next they were all on our collective bookshelves.

And man, did we have some great reads this year. We haven’t even had time to post reviews for all of them yet–don’t worry, they are coming.

So, here is our list of favorites for the year. They aren’t in any particular order, and we cheat wherever we want (if you aren’t cheating, you aren’t trying hard enough).Read the rest of this post »

A Memory of Light

Posted: January 8, 2013 by Alan in Books We Love Tags: Brandon Sanderson, Epic Fantasy, Robert Jordan

This is easily the most difficult review I have had the opportunity write.  I start it off much the same I way wrote the review for the previous WoT book.  It’s difficult to write a review solely on A MEMORY OF LIGHT, without considering all that has come before.  Opening the cover of this book, and reading those first words, all the way to finishing the last words and closing the book, has been been an inevitability hurtling (sometimes crawling) at me for 17 years or so.Read the rest of this review »

11/22/63

Posted: January 15, 2013 by Writer Dan in Books We Don't Like Tags: Romance, Stephen King

Romance? I know. I can hear the tumult of the masses lurching in defiance from here.  Since when does EBR review romance novels?  Answer:  since King started writing them while his publisher was marketing them as otherwise.  There was nothing even remotely romance-related to this book that I came across prior to getting into its pages.  Not on the outer cover, not inside the cover, not in any official summary of the book.  Not anywhere.  In fact, despite everything that made my deductive reasoning lean toward the contrary, I didn’t even fully accept that the book was a romance until the very end.  Not until the last sentence of the book.

And did that bother me?  Immensely so.Read the rest of this review »

Red Country

Posted: January 18, 2013 by Steven in Books We Love Tags: Dark Fantasy, Joe Abercrombie, Western

I love Westerns. LOVE them. I grew up reading Louis L’Amour and watching John Wayne movies. When I got older I found I loved the more mature stories in the genre. You know, Unforgiven and the like. Can you even begin to imagine how excited I was when Joe Abercrombie announced his next novel would have Western themes in it? And it would be called RED COUNTRY? If that doesn’t scream Western-styled violence, I don’t know what does.Read the rest of this review »

Cuttlefish

Posted: January 23, 2013 by Writer Dan in Books that are Mediocre Tags: Dave Freer, Young Adult

A good while ago, I had my first run at buying sushi. I’d sampled it before with friends and such, but had never purchased any myself. Apart from initially mistaking the twirl of wasabi for some tasty guacamole (How? Looking at it from this side of things, I honestly have no idea) it was a great experience. When I was finished, I decided to try the other interesting-looking thing on the plate. The one that looked like marinated flower petals. I found that it was sweet and actually pretty good, but then arose the over-powering taste of…soap? Later, a good friend told me what I had actually ingested.

The connection? My impression of this book in two words: candied ginger.Read the rest of this review »

Cold Days

Posted: January 25, 2013 by Steven in Books We Love Tags: Jim Butcher, Urban Fantasy

The last few Dresden Files novels have been a bit hit-or-miss with me. That is a painful admission. For the longest time, Jim Butcher was one of my favorite authors, and the Dresden Files included some of my favorite novels. But then…yikes. To me, some of these last books have just not been good. CHANGES started to put things right again, and GHOST STORY had its moments. But then came COLD DAYS

…and it was freaking amazing.Read the rest of this review »

Three Parts Dead

Posted: January 29, 2013 by Vanessa in Books We Like Tags: Fantasy, Max Gladstone

Magic lawyers. No, not lawyers who go to court over magic, but lawyers who have magic and use it to make contracts. Gods who are real. Gargoyles. Vampires. Necromancy. A murder mystery. Trying to explain everything this novel has and is just makes my head spin.

So…maybe I should start at the beginning.Read the rest of this review »

The Wolf’s Hour

Posted: February 1, 2013 by Steven in Books We Love Tags: Horror, Robert McCammon

This review is going to be a bit different. Why? Because it isn’t a review of the actual, physical book. You see, I drive a lot. More than is healthy, even. On average, I spend nearly two hours per day in a car. That’s ten whole hours a week being dedicated to something other than reading awesome books…

…unless I use……wait for it…….AUDIOBOOKS!!!!!!!!Read the rest of this review »

Michael Vey: The Prisoner of Cell 25

Posted: February 5, 2013 by Vanessa in Books that are Mediocre Tags: Richard Paul Evans, Young Adult

Michael Vey is not your average teenager. Ever since he was a kid, he could produce an electric shock. Kind of like a walking Taser. Only with hormones and acne.

His mom is paranoid about what would happen if people found out about his abilities. She gave up a good job at a California law firm to move them both to Idaho in order to keep him safe from anyone who might notice. But in high school Michael is noticed for other reasons: he’s kinda scrawny, his best friend is the brainiac nerd at school, and he has Tourettes (the kind with tics when he’s nervous, not the swearing kind). So of course the poor kid is bullied.Read the rest of this review »

The Girl Who Fell Beneath Fairyland and Led the Revels There

Posted: February 8, 2013 by Shawn in Books We Love Tags: Catherynne M. Valente, Fantasy, Young Adult

Do you know where these are from? “Follow the yellow brick road”, “There’s no place like home” or even “I don’t think we’re in Kansas anymore Toto.” How about we try another one? If I were to talk to you about going down the rabbit hole would you know what I meant? What if I asked you about the Mad Hatter? You would wouldn’t you?Read the rest of this review »